Skip to content
Loading Events

CITY TALK (FR/ NL)

New Belgium, New Brussels

In this Bozar City Talk, Tom Naegels will focus on the history of migration in Brussels and place it in a broader – national and international – context. He will be talking to Laura Nsengiyumva, a Brussels native with non-Belgian roots. She sketches the realities of life for new Belgians past and present, who have helped to shape the Brussels (and Belgium) we know today.

Tom Naegels (1975) researches Belgium’s migration history. His first book on the topic, Nieuw België – Een migratiegeschiedenis 1944 – 1978 [New Belgium – A Migration History 1944 – 1978] was published in 2021 and has been called ‘the most important book of the year’.

Laura Nsengiyumva (1987) is a multidisciplinary Belgian artist with Rwandan roots. She studied architecture at La Cambre and describes herself as an “activist who combines her artistic practice with her activist involvement”.

The discussion will be moderated by Jana Kerremans (Culture & heritage expert, presenter & panel host).

Speaker(s)

Aucun intervenant lié cet événement

Schedule

19:30 > 21:00

Place

BOZAR

TICKETS : https://tickets.bozar.be/selection/event/date?productId=10228607630375&lang=fr

UPCOMING EVENTS OF THE CYCLE

17 02
  • Année Cycle EN
  • Cycles 2023

#4. SSU – Prof. Mordechai (Muki) Haklay (University College London)

17:30 > 19:30
Beursschouwburg
More

Aller au contenu
Chargement Évènements

CITY TALK (FR/ NL)

New Belgium, New Brussels

Dans ce Bozar City Talk, Tom Naegels se penchera sur l’histoire de l’immigration à Bruxelles en resituant ce phénomène dans un contexte plus général – national et international. Il s’entretiendra avec Laura Nsengiyumva, une Bruxelloise pure souche d’origine rwandaise, qui parlera de la vie des « nouveaux Belges » qui contribuent ou ont contribué à façonner Bruxelles (et la Belgique) telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui.

Tom Naegels (°1975) a étudié l’histoire de l’ immigration en Belgique. Un premier volume sur ce thème – La nouvelle Belgique : Une histoire de l’immigration 1944 – 1978 – est paru en 2021. Il a remporté la première édition du Livre le plus important de l’année (« Belangrijkste boek van het jaar »).

Laura Nsengiyumva (°1987) est une artiste belge multidisciplinaire d’origine rwandaise. Elle a étudié l’architecture à La Cambre et se décrit comme une « militante qui inscrit sa pratique artistique dans son engagement activiste ».

Interview par Jana Kerremans

Intervenant-e-(s)

Aucun intervenant lié cet événement

Horaire

19:30 > 21:00

Lieu

BOZAR

TICKETS : https://tickets.bozar.be/selection/event/date?productId=10228607630375&lang=fr

Événements à venir du cycle

 

17 02
  • Année Cycle FR
  • Cycles 2023

#4. SSU – Prof. Mordechai (Muki) Haklay (University College London)

17:30 > 19:30
Beursschouwburg
More